KinAct Collective

Founded in 2015 in Kinshasa by Eddy Ekete and Aude Bertrand, KinAct is an international festival and artist collective that collaborates with varying performers.
  • The numbers of the works of art correspond to the numbers on the exhibition route in the visitor's guide.
  • You can also find these works of art in the virtual tour.

Eddy Ekete was born in 1978 in Kinshasa (Democratic Republic of Congo) and Aude Bertrand in 1988 in Valréas (France). They live and work alternately in Paris (France) and in Kinshasa. For Congoville KinAct works together with Louis Van Der Waal (°1979, Netherlands), Precy Numbi (°1990, Democratic Republic of Congo) and Charlien Adriaenssens (°1988, Belgium).

 

La maison du chef / Ndaku ya Mokonzi (2021)

Number 3 on the exhibition route
Location: AVL Franchise Unit – Atelier Van Lieshout

The La maison du chef / Ndaku ya Mokonzi project consists of an installation representing the house of a traditional Congolese chef, a radio program in which you as a visitor can share your Congoville, filmed performances and  performance characters.

The Mokonzi’s house is built from the waste that the West dumps in Africa and KinAct gives it back to us. This ‘donation’ refers to the colonists who visited the chiefs in their homes bringing gifts (mirrors, alcohol or guns) in exchange for the rights to their land. Just as the waste today is toxic to people and the environment, the gifts offered then were also poisoned. KinAct wants to re-enact the exchange. They invite us to share our own fragments of Congoville with them and their listeners: we can tell stories and recount memories during their radio broadcast on July 24. In this way the house becomes a place for collecting, exchanging and restoring.

KinAct is best known for its performances in the streets of Kinshasa, with figures such as the Homme Canette and Papa Miracle (see the performances on video). They have created several new characters for the Middelheim Museum, each with their own costume fashioned from waste material, not dressed fancily like the typical dandies. The materials in themselves have a meaning, from the rubber of the Leopold II era to today’s electronic waste. If they were to move, these exuberant figures would force visitors into uncanny encounters taking them out of their comfort zone.

Radio KinAct Connect

Members from KinAct will produce a broadcasted radio show live in the Middelheim Museum from the pavilion of Atelier Van Lieshout. The program can be listened to online, at home or in the park, in 3 episodes:

  • #1: 30/05/2021: 13u-16u: first radio show
  • #2: 30/06/2021: 13u-16u: special radio show ‘indépendence’ with live audio connection to Kinshasa
  • #3: 24/07/2021: 13u-16u: special ‘Parlement Debout Day’ where people are invited to share their emotions and memories on the Congo (from colonial times to the present).

Documentary

Elie Mbansing, KinAct (2019), documentary film about the KinAct Performance Festival in Kinshasa.

KinAct is short for Kinshasa-in-action and aims to stimulate exchange between artists from Africa and Europe. Large African cities such as Kinshasa have a thriving artistic scene with artists displaying their work directly to the public, without galleries or museums as is common in the West. The KinAct participants create their (street) performances before the eyes of – and in interaction with – an audience of millions. Social themes such as the environment, health care, superstition, violence, African identity and the struggle for survival are central to this. Much attention is also paid to workshops for children, who learn to express themselves in different ways. Interest in this approach is also growing in Europe, with an increasing number of street performance festivals, some directly inspired by KinAct.

Congolese filmmaker  and  photographer Elie Mbansing has been involved  with KinAct since  the beginning. In this film he portrays the Afrofuturistic atmosphere of the different editions in Kinshasa.

The participation of KinAct Collective in the exhibition was made possible by various partners such as Maarten Vanden Eynde (ICC, Brussels - Lubumbashi), Philip Buyck (Lumumba Library, Brussels), Gia Abrassart (Café Congo) and Anne Wetsi Mpoma.

La maison du chef

KinAct Collective, La maison du chef/Ndaku ya mokonzi, 2021 © The Artists. Photo Léonard Pongo

 

Toza kaka / On est (encore) là (2021)

Number 5 on the exhibition route
Location: Artiesteningang – John Körmeling

  • Copyright movie: the artists & Noud Wynants.
  • Archive film: Les Marins congolais à Anvers by Gerard De Boe & Emile Degelin (1952)
  • Collection Cinematek Royal Belgian Film Archive; copyright Gerard De Boe & Cinematek

Around 1950 several colonial  propaganda films were shot, documenting selected groups of Africans being taken on tours of Belgian ‘highlights’ – in this case Congolese sailors on leave in the port of Antwerp. Visits ranged from cultural sites to monuments celebrating colonization. Meanwhile, an alienating and imposing voiceover exalts the prescribed admiration that Congolese are to feel for an ‘unsurpassed’ Western civilization.

In a newly filmed performance, KinAct Collective enters into a dialogue with this archive  film. In contrast to the sailors who had to follow the script, the performers use their bodies and self-created costumes to loudly claim their place in Antwerp’s public space. Charged with the energy of the contemporary Kinshasa streets where they were born,  these radical  anti-flâneurs make  themselves highly visible.

Toza kaka means both ‘we are together’ and ‘we are (still) here’. It is a reference to our forward-looking cooperation as a collective, and the historical coexistence of Belgium and the Democratic Republic of Congo – which is still ongoing; ‘we are still here’ also refers to the garbage that wanders the streets and does not decay, and it is a statement by many of our colleagues and friends in Kinshasa: the government does not look after us, our stories are ignored, life has been a battle for centuries, but we are still here

Charlien Adriaenssens, performer KinAct Collective

On est encore la

KinAct Collective

Collectif KinAct est un festival international et un collectif d’artistes tous deux nés dans les rues de Kinshasa en 2015. Ses cofondateurs sont Eddy Ekete et Aude Bertrand.
  • Les numéros des œuvres correspondent aux numéros du parcours de l'exposition dans le guide du visiteur.
  • Vous retrouverez également ces oeuvres d'art dans la visite virtuelle.

Eddy Ekete est né en 1978 à Kinshasa (RDC) et Aude Bertrand est née en 1988 à Valréas (France). Ils vivent et travaillent alternativement à Paris et à Kinshasa. Pour Congoville, KinAct travaille avec les performeurs Louis Van Der Waal (°1979, Pays-Bas), Precy Numbi (°1990, RDC) et Charlien Adriaenssens (°1988, Belgique).

 

La maison du chef / Ndaku ya Mokonzi (2021)

Numéro 3 sur le parcours de l'exposition
Lieu: AVL Franchise Unit – Atelier Van Lieshout

Le projet La maison du chef / Ndaku ya Mokonzi se compose d’une installation qui représente la maison traditionnelle d’un chef congolais, d’une émission radiophonique dans laquelle des visiteurs peuvent partager leur Congoville, de performances et de personnages filmés.

La maison du Mokonzi est construite des déchets que l’Occident déverse en Afrique : KinAct nous les rend. Cette « donation » fait référence aux colonisateurs qui rendaient visite aux chefs traditionnels dans leurs habitations en leur apportant des « cadeaux » (des miroirs, de l’alcool et des armes à feu) en échange de concessions territoriales. De même que les déchets d’aujourd’hui sont nocifs pour les humains et l’environnement, les cadeaux de l’époque furent aussi empoisonnés. KinAct souhaite redonner du contenu à l’échange. Ils nous invitent à partager nos propres bribes de Congoville avec eux et avec les auditeurs : au cours de leur émission radiophonique du 24 juillet, on peut raconter des histoires et des souvenirs. Leur œuvre crée ainsi de la latitude pour recueillir, échanger et réparer.

KinAct est surtout connu pour ses performances de rue à Kinshasa, avec des personnages tels qu’Homme Canette et Papa Miracle (voir les performances en vidéo). Pour le musée du Middelheim, ils ont imaginé toute une série de personnages exubérants qui aiguillonnent le visiteur. Non pas des dandys, mais des figures vêtues de résidus de matériaux significatifs, allant du caoutchouc du temps de Léopold II à des déchets électroniques contemporains. Si ces personnages s’animaient, ils seraient bruyants et énergiques et entraîneraient les visiteurs dans d’étranges rencontres.

Radio KinAct Connect

Les membres de KinAct animent une émission radio depuis l’AVL. Vous pouvez écouter les trois émissions, au parc ou chez vous :

  • #1 : 30/05/2021 : 13h-16h : première émission diffusée.
  • #2 : 30/06/2021 : 13h-16h : émission radiophonique « indépendance » en duplex avec Kinshasa.
  • #3 : 24/07/2021 : 13h-16h : émission « Parlement Debout Day » lors de laquelle les auditeurs peuvent venir partager leurs émotions et leurs souvenirs du Congo (de l’époque coloniale à aujourd’hui).

Documentaire

Élie Mbansing, KinAct (2019), documentaire sur le festival de performance KinAct à Kinshasa.

KinAct, la contraction de Kinshasa en action, souhaite stimuler les échanges entre artistes africains et européens. Dans les grandes villes d’Afrique comme Kinshasa, où les scènes artistiques sont bouillonnantes, les artistes présentent leur travail au public de manière directe, sans passer par des galeries ou des musées, comme il est d’usage en Occident. Les participants à KinAct créent leurs propres performances (de rue) sous les yeux du public innombrable et en interaction avec ces millions de spectateurs. Ils abordent surtout des thèmes sociaux et sociétaux comme l’environnement, la santé, la superstition, la violence, l’identité africaine et le combat pour survivre. On attache également beaucoup d’importance à des ateliers pour enfants où ils apprennent à s’exprimer de différentes façons. En Europe aussi, l’intérêt pour une telle approche s’accroît et on compte de plus en plus de festivals de théâtre de rue, parfois inspirés en droite ligne de KinAct. Le cinéaste et photographe congolais Élie Mbansing est impliqué depuis le début dans KinAct. Dans ce film, il nous brosse un tableau de l’ambiance afrofuturiste des différentes éditions du festival à Kinshasa.

La participation de KinAct Collective à l’exposition a été rendue possible grâce au soutien de divers partenaires, tels que Maarten Vanden Eynde (ICC, Bruxelles-Lubumbashi), Philip Buyck (Bibliothèque Lumumba, Bruxelles), Gia Abrassart (Café Congo) et Anne Wetsi Mpoma.

La maison du chef

KinAct Collective, La maison du chef/Ndaku ya mokonzi, 2021 © The Artists. Photo Léonard Pongo

 

Toza kaka / On est (encore) là (2021)

Numéro 5 sur le parcours de l'exposition
Lieu: Artiesteningang – John Körmeling

  • © film : l’artiste et Noud Wynants.
  • Film d’archives : Les Marins congolais à Anvers de Gerard De Boe & Émile Degelin (1952)
  • Collection Cinematek – Cinémathèque royale de Belgique, Bruxelles ; © Gerard De Boe et Cinematek.

Vers 1950, quelques films de propagande coloniale sont tournés, dont celui que vous venez de voir. On y voit des Africains triés sur le volet, en l’occurrence des marins congolais qui passent quelques jours de vacances dans la ville portuaire d’Anvers. Ils y visitent des « trésors » culturels belges, allant de curiosités diverses à des monuments qui glorifient la colonisation. La voix off souligne avec insistance l’admiration imposée des visiteurs pour ladite civilisation occidentale inégalée.

Dans une nouvelle performance filmée, KinAct Collective engage le dialogue avec ce film d’archives. Contrairement aux marins de l’époque, qui suivent docilement le scénario, ils revendiquent l’espace public avec leurs propres corps et des costumes qu’ils ont eux-mêmes confectionnés. Avec l’énergie des rues de Kinshasa, ces anti-flâneurs radicaux se rendent particulièrement visibles et audibles dans la ville d’Anvers actuelle.

« Toza kaka signifie aussi bien « nous sommes ensemble » que « nous sommes (encore) là ». Il s’agit d’une référence à notre collaboration axée sur l’avenir en tant que collectif et au fait que la Belgique et la RDC sont historiquement ensemble et continuent à l’être ; « nous sommes encore là » renvoie aussi aux détritus qui jonchent les rues et ne disparaissent pas. C’est une expression que beaucoup de nos collègues et amis à Kinshasa emploient : le gouvernement s’en fout de nous, nos récits sont ignorés, la vie est une lutte depuis des siècles, mais nous sommes encore là. » (Charlien Adriaenssens, performeuse KinAct)

On est encore la