Vision

Read more about the museum’s vision here.

The Middelheim Museum presents a highly diverse range of collection pieces and exhibition projects, combining both in a well-considered, selective acquisition policy linked to continuous reflection. The museum, which combines an ambitious museum programme with an attractive urban park setting, positions itself on the local, national and international level, in terms both of its collection and the latter’s accessibility. The museum’s vision is founded on three principles:

 

The Middelheim Museum contemplates (assumptions of the museum)

  • In the Middelheim Museum, the past forms a constant source of insight for the present: the collection of modern sculptures offers inspiration, lessons and serves as a springboard for the contemporary art in the museum. Vice versa, new materials and techniques lead to new insights into possibilities for conservation and preservation.
  • The Middelheim Museum is conducting ongoing research into the many facets of sculpture and their inter-relationship. Spatially oriented art is a vast field: from monolithic sculptures to installations, land art to performance art, sculpture to architecture, the indestructible to the ephemeral.
  • The park serves as a laboratory for the public space. The open-air setting is the perfect framework for experimenting with content and form for the urban environment. The museum context, meanwhile, serves as the framework for the experiment, which is often lacking in public space.
  • The Middelheim Museum is surrounded by a solid and stable network of intermediary and supporting organisations, by people with expertise and passionate employees and volunteers. The museum receives impulses from this network, as well as passing them on and striving to develop new relationships.

 

The Middelheim Museum provides (needs to which the museum provides a response)

  • The Middelheim Museum has identified a great need for expertise and knowledge sharing about outdoor art: an increasing number of private and public initiatives and public authorities commission artwork for the public space, often without any experience or theoretical context. The Middelheim Museum develops this expertise in a very targeted manner and actively shares it. 
  • In addition to creating works for the outdoors, the conservation and management of this heritage requires a highly specific approach The effects of climate change constantly present us with new challenges, which means that constant adjustment, training and research are absolutely vital. 
  • The Middelheim Museum cultivates the listed landscapes (formal gardens, forest, orchards) and constantly strives to achieve a balance between the museum’s activities and a respectful relationship with its valuable green environment.  
  • By focussing on creating new works for exhibitions, by actively overseeing and supporting this process and aligning its exhibition programme with its acquisition policy, the museum creates new opportunities together with the artists in his or her work. 
  • Conserving an outdoor heritage collection – in the park and in the public space – requires a highly specific approach, in which continuous research and the adjustment of restoration and conservation techniques play a major role. Furthermore, this demands a well-thought-out storage policy and an innovative combination of an outdoor and indoor storage area. In the Middelheim Museum – which literally is a green museum and therefore considers sustainability one of its top priorities – an effective storage policy and collection play a vital role in this respect.

 

The Middelheim Museum works (the assets the museum uses to draw more attention to heritage)

  • The annual exhibition programme consists of at least three exhibitions and two collection presentations.
  • The Middelheim Museum adopts a selective acquisition policy, in accordance with its permanent research into the contemporary relevance of sculpture within the art scene as a whole. 
  • The exhibition programme is largely founded on the principle of creation and presentation, whereby artists create new works specifically for the open-air museum, which are subsequently displayed for the first time. This involves collaborations with some of the very best international artists. 
  • The exhibition programme in the park is expanded with a well-defined number of projects for emerging artists. 
  • The publication policy is linked to the temporary exhibitions. However, the museum can expand this and use publications to improve access to the collection and share information in the framework of conservation and management, and outreach activities. The Lode Craeybeckx documentation centre also plays a major role in this respect. 
  • The outreach activities play a key role in improving access to the museum’s four basic functions. “Customisation” is a central aspect of this approach Part of these activities, just like the other museum activities, are free and highly accessible. 
  • The Middelheim Museum is able to rely on a specialised communication and press service, which develops a well-founded communication strategy for the museum’s basic functions, with an effective balance between project-based and ongoing operations, and which uses new digital possibilities.  
  • The Middelheim Museum wants to reach and be accessible to as many people as possible, and seeks to establish relations with partners in the area surrounding the park, including the University of Antwerp and ZNA Middelheim. 
  • The Middelheim Museum promotes the preservation and management of sculpture in the city and its districts.

Vision

Lisez ici la vision du musée.

Le Musée Middelheim présente une gamme très variée de pièces de collection et de projets d’expositions et associe ces deux aspects de son activité muséale à une politique d’acquisitions cohérente, fruit d’une réflexion continue sur sa mission. Le musée combine une vision ambitieuse avec un décor communal de verdure et se profile au niveau local, national et international. La vision du musée repose sur trois piliers:

 

Le Musée Middelheim considère (les conceptions sur lesquelles le musée se base)

  • Pour le Musée Middelheim, le passé est une source permanente d’inspiration pour le présent: la collection de sculptures modernes inspire, instruit et sert de base à l’art contemporain au musée. Inversement, des techniques et matériaux modernes offrent des angles de vue nouveaux sur les possibilités de conservation et de préservation.
  • Le Musée Middelheim étudie en permanence les mille facettes de la sculpture et leur cohésion. L’art dans l’espace est un vaste terrain d’étude : des sculptures monolithiques aux installations, du land art à la performance, de la sculpture à l’architecture, de l’indestructible à l’éphémère.
  • Le parc fonctionne comme un laboratoire de l’art dans l’espace public : le plein air offre le cadre idéal à l’expérimentation sur le fond et la forme dans le domaine communal. Le contexte muséal offre un cadre à l’expérimentation, souvent absente de l’espace public.
  • Le Musée Middelheim a tissé un réseau dense et stable d’organisations intermédiaires, d’experts et de collaborateurs et bénévoles enthousiastes. Il reçoit des impulsions de ce réseau, et lui en donne, nouant ainsi sans cesse de nouveaux liens.

 

Le Musée Middelheim écoute (les besoins auxquels il peut apporter une réponse)

  • Le Musée Middelheim note un grand besoin en expertise et partage de connaissance sur l’art en plein air : de plus en plus d’instances privées et publiques commandent des œuvres d’art pour l’espace public, souvent sans expérience ou cadre théorique. Le Musée Middelheim œuvre à développer ce savoir-faire et à le partager activement.
  • Outre la création d’œuvres de plein air, la conservation et la gestion de ce patrimoine exigent une approche spécifique. Les effets des changements climatiques nous placent sans cesse devant de nouveaux défis, ce qui demande des révisions de nos connaissances, des formations supplémentaires et des études. 
  • Le Musée Middelheim cultive les paysages protégés (jardins formels, zones boisées, vergers) et recherche en permanence l’équilibre entre la fonction muséale du parc et le respect de ces espaces verts d’une grande valeur.
  • En stimulant la création d’œuvres pour des expositions, en l’encadrant et la soutenant, et mettant son programme d’expositions en lien avec sa politique d’acquisitions, le musée offre de nouvelles perspectives aux artistes.
  • La conservation de la collection en plein air – dans le parc comme dans l’espace public – doit répondre à des critères très précis. L’étude et la révision constante des techniques de restauration et de préservation sont donc essentielles. La collection exige en même temps une politique de dépôt réfléchie et une synthèse innovante entre le dépôt intérieur et le dépôt extérieur. Dépôt et collection sont donc des fonctions-clés de l’action du Musée Middelheim dans le respect de la durabilité.

 

Le Musée Middelheim agit (les forces mises en œuvre pour le respect du patrimoine)

  • Le programme annuel d’expositions porte au moins sur trois expositions et deux présentations de la collection.
  • Le Musée Middelheim mène une politique d’acquisitions sélective et examine en continu la place de la sculpture sur la scène artistique.
  • Le programme d’expositions repose en grande partie sur le principe de la création et de la présentation, en privilégiant les œuvres nouvelles pour le musée, où elles sont exposées en première, toujours dans un esprit de collaboration avec des artistes d’envergure internationale. 
  • Le programme d’expositions couvre aussi des projets donnant leur chance à des artistes au début de leur carrière. 
  • La politique de publication suit étroitement les expositions temporaires, avec possibilité de l’étendre à la présentation de la collection, et de partager des informations dans le cadre de la gestion des œuvres d’art et des activités à l’adresse du public. Le centre de documentation tient à cet égard une place importante.
  • Les activités grand public jouent un rôle essentiel dans les quatre fonctions de base du musée et sont essentiellement axées sur le sur-mesure. Une partie des activités, comme le reste des actions du musée est gratuite et accessible à tous.
  • Le Musée Middelheim peut compter sur un service de presse et communication compétent, qui élabore une stratégie répondant aux fonctions de base du musée, avec un bon équilibre entre fonction permanente et projets, et en utilisant les nouvelles technologies numériques.
  • Le Musée Middelheim tend à une accessibilité optimale et noue dans ce sens des partenariats avec ses voisins dans le parc, notamment l’Université d’Anvers et le centre hospitalier ZNA Middelheim. 
  • Le Musée Middelheim veille à la conservation et la gestion des sculptures dans la ville et les districts.