Roundabout

The Middelheim Museum is a constant bridge from past to present. The collection of modern sculptures is a source of inspiration for contemporary artists in the museum, but so too are the fine old buildings in the stately park.

Do you know Aubette?

Aubette is the small circular pavilion near the main entrance of the Middelheim Museum. It is over a hundred years old and for a long time was used as a cottage for the park museum’s superintendents. In 2015 it was thoroughly restored.

 

Contemporary experiment

Middelheim would not be a museum of contemporary art if it were not constantly open to experimentation. Together with Antony Hudek, director of Objectif Exhibitions/Extra City, a changing exhibition project is being developed, in which different forms of contemporary sculpture enter into dialogue with a setting rich in history.

The range of spatially oriented art is now extensive, from monolithic sculptures to installations, from land art to performance, and from the indestructible to the evanescent. Belgian artist Paul Hendrikse will go first this spring.

 

Win-win situation

The title Roundabout refers not only to the round shape of Aubette or to the roundabout at the transition between Middelheim-Hoog and Middelheim-Laag. It is also and above all an allusion to the Middelheim Museum’s function as a laboratory in the public space.

The park is the perfect setting for an experiment with the form and content of the urban landscape. At the same time, the necessary museum context is provided which is often lacking in the public space.

Roundabout

Au Musée Middelheim, le passé constitue un pont permanent vers le présent. La collection de sculptures modernes est une source d'inspiration pour les artistes contemporains du musée. Mais il en est de même pour les beaux bâtiments anciens édifiés dans le parc majestueux.

Connaissez-vous Aubette?

Aubette est le petit pavillon circulaire situé au niveau de l'entrée principale du Musée Middelheim. Construit il y a plus de cent ans, ce bâtiment a longtemps été utilisé comme pavillon pour les gardiens du musée du parc. En 2015, l’aubette a été entièrement rénovée.

 

Expérimentation contemporaine

Le Middelheim ne serait pas un musée d'art contemporain s’il n’était pas ouvert en permanence à l'expérimentation. En collaboration avec le curateur Antony Hudek, d’Objectif Exhibitions/Extra City, un projet d'exposition variable a été mis en place, où différentes formes de sculpture contemporaine sont en dialogue avec un environnement d’une grande richesse historique.

De fait, l’art orienté vers la spatialisation brasse large : des sculptures monolithiques aux installations, du land art à la performance, de l’inaltérable à l’extrêmement éphémère. L’artiste belge Paul Hendrikse inaugurera cette exposition au printemps prochain.

 

Situation win-win

Le titre ROUNDABOUT ne se réfère pas uniquement à la forme ronde de l'aubette ou au rond-point marquant la frontière entre Middelheim-Hoog et Middelheim-Laag. Il est avant tout un clin d'œil à la fonction de laboratoire du Musée Middelheim dans l'espace public.

Le parc est le cadre idéal pour une expérimentation de la forme et du contenu en zone urbaine. Toutefois, le musée offre le nécessaire contexte muséal qui fait souvent défaut dans l'espace public.