Raymond Duchamp-Villon (France)

Damville, 1876 - Cannes, 1918

The Large Horse

Le Grand Cheval or The Large Horse embodies a belief in progress, in furious dynamism, both in form and idea.

With the aid of Cubism, and with a nod to the Futurists, who were creating a furore in Italy at the time, Duchamp-Villon succeeded in fusing form and machine using animal strength as a common denominator. This work celebrates and venerates animal power and speed.

The forms restrict the space, attempting to contain it. The layered body visualises speed. Duchamp-Villon created another five editions of this sculpture, possibly because he was a passionate horseman himself? They are exhibited in the Museum of Modern Art in New York, Centre Pompidou in Paris and the Tate Gallery in London among others.

Raymond Duchamp-Villon was the brother of Marcel Duchamp and Jacques Villon. He was an autodidact, which did not prevent him from progressing steadily as a sculptor. From 1905 onwards, he participated every year in the Salon d’Automne. In 1910, he even founded his own Cubist movement. He enlisted as an auxiliary doctor when the First World War broke out in 1914, but did not survive the conflict.

Location

Number 14 on the map

Specifications

  • The Large Horse
  • 1914
  • h 107 cm x w 100 cm x d 60 cm
  • Bronze
  • MIDW097

Raymond Duchamp-Villon (France)

Damville, 1876-Cannes, 1918

Le grand cheval

Le Grand Cheval témoigne de la foi dans progrès de lartiste, dun dynamisme effréné dans la forme et lidée.

En puisant dans le cubisme, et avec un clin d’œil au futurisme, qui fait alors fureur en Italie, Duchamp-Villon parvient à fondre forme et machine autour de la force animale. Cette œuvre glorifie la puissance et la rapidité du cheval.

Les formes délimitent l’espace et tentent de le capter. Le poitrail abaissé suggère la vitesse. Duchamp-Villon produit cinq autres exemplaires de cette sculpture, sans doute mû par sa passion pour l’équitation. Elle figure encore au Museum of Modern Art à New York, au Centre Pompidou à Paris et à la Tate Gallery à Londres.

Raymond Duchamp-Villon était le frère de Marcel Duchamp et Jacques Villon. Il était sculpteur autodidacte, ce qui ne l’empêcha de se faire connaître. Il participa chaque année au Salon d’Automne à partir de 1905 et lança même son propre mouvement cubiste en 1910. Quand la Première Guerre mondiale éclata, il s’engagea dans l’armée comme auxiliaire médical. Il mourut à un jeune âge, avant même la fin de la guerre.

Localisation

Numéro 14 sur le plan

Spécifications

  • Le grand cheval
  • 1914
  • H. 107 cm x l. 100 cm x p. 60 cm
  • Bronze
  • MID.B.097