Mission

Read more about the museum’s mission.

Since 1950, the Middelheim Museum has combined a highly approachable, recreational park setting with a high quality museum. It focuses on modern and contemporary sculpture, using its inspirational, challenging, informative and entertaining value as a starting point.

The museum is developing a rare and highly sought after expertise about art in open air, linking this to the field of art in public space. The museum is convinced that accessibility, inclusiveness and lifelong learning are important, which is why it actively and generously shares this knowledge, with city residents, museum visitors, experts and public authorities in a targeted manner.

The museum is also developing as a sustainable organisation, with the aim of cultivating a respectful relationship with people, ecology and the economy.

Lastly, the Middelheim Museum uses its unique combination of nature and culture in a dynamic manner, to create broad social support for creativity and critical reflection in general and modern and contemporary visual arts in particular.

Mission

Lisez ici la mission du musée.

Le Musée Middelheim combine depuis 1950 un environnement récréatif grand public avec une activité muséale de haute qualité. Il est entièrement consacré à la sculpture moderne et contemporaine et se veut un lieu d’inspiration, d’information, d’émulation et de plaisir.

Le musée bâtit un savoir-faire durable et recherché sur l’art en plein air, et l’applique au domaine de l’art dans l’espace public. Soucieux de procurer au public accessibilité, participation et enrichissement permanent, le musée partage activement et généreusement son savoir-faire avec les habitants de la ville, les visiteurs, les experts et les pouvoirs publics.

Le musée se veut aussi une institution durable, dans le respect des hommes, de l’écologie et de l’économie.

Le Musée Middelheim donne enfin à sa combinaison unique de nature et culture une dimension dynamique en lui conférant une large portée sociale et en encourageant la créativité et la réflexion critique en général, et l’art moderne et contemporain en particulier.