Jean Arp (France)

Strasbourg, 1887 – Basel, 1966

Tree of Bowls

Arp’s relationship with his art is similar to that of a plant with the fruit it bears.

The idea of the “fruit” is quite vital to Arp’s work. This composition with three “bowls” creates a synthesis between the geometric and the organic, the natural and the consciously structured and managed, the accidental and the rationally considered.

The three bowls form a “tree of bowls”, in which each element is independent but above all contributes to a larger whole, which is greater than the sum of its parts.

Jean Arp’s sculptures seem to have grown organically. You’ll hardly ever see straight lines in them. As a result, his works seem natural, as if they are the result of a natural evolution: one things follows from another.

The form of the sculpture, by definition, is therefore natural. Jean Arp, who was also known as Hans Arp, due to his dual French-German nationality, was a major modern artist. He was in close contact with contemporaries and kindred artists such as Max Ernst, Piet Mondrian, Paul Klee, Wassily Kandinsky and other members of the Blaue Reiter (Blue Rider) group. He was a founding member of the Dada movement and was also a poet and graphic artist as well as a sculptor.

Location

Number 8 on the map

Specifications

  • Tree of Bowls
  • 1947- 54
  • h 100 cm x w 46 cm x d 46 cm
  • Bronze
  • MIDW071

Jean Arp (France)

Strasbourg, 1887–Bâle, 1966

Arbre à plateaux

Arp entretient avec son art la relation dun arbre avec son fruit.

L’idée du fruit est essentielle dans l’œuvre de Jean Arp. Cette composition à trois ‘plateaux’ est une synthèse du géométrique et de l’organique, du naturel et du consciemment structuré, du hasard et de la raison.

Les trois plateaux forment un ‘arbre’, chaque élément ayant une existence propre mais contribuant surtout à l’ensemble, qui est bien davantage que la somme des parties.
Les sculptures de Jean Arp semblent répondre à une croissance organique. La ligne droite y est rarement présente, si bien que ses œuvres semblent être le produit de l’évolution naturelle d’un élément vers un autre.

La forme est donc par définition naturelle. Jean Arp, également connu sous le nom Hans Arp en raison de sa double nationalité franco-allemande, est une figure majeure de l’art moderne. Il entretenait d’excellents contacts avec des artistes contemporaines comme Max Ernst, Piet Mondrian, Paul Klee, Wassily Kandinsky et autres membres du mouvement allemand Cavalier Bleu. Il fut même à la base du mouvement Dada et était également poète.

Localisation

Numéro 8 sur le plan

Spécifications

  • Arbre à plateaux
  • 1947-54
  • H. 100 cm x l. 46 cm x p. 46 cm
  • Bronze
  • MID.B.071