Eugène Dodeigne (France)

Rouvreux, 1923

Three Standing Figures

Dodeigne created figures without detail, hewn yet unhewn. 

Dodeigne based this sculpture on three drawings, which he made in the winter of 1977-78. They recall dolmen stones, frozen in time, lending the sculptures a mystical and somewhat pagan air. The form takes precedence over content, as Dodeigne’s great model Rodin had always argued.

 

These are unique pieces, carved directly into the stone (taille directe). The figures are pared down, but monumental. They are elegant monoliths. They stand, that much is certain, hence the title. They are precise forms, which stand covertly, moving together, while guarding their distance, watching one another. High priests of the slightest gesture. They stand still, yet seem to stride with great dignity.

These sculptures are instantly recognisable in their form and action. At the same time, they remain rough lumps of blue stone from Soignies. This highly specific material was perfectly suited to Dodeigne’s intentions.

The Middelheim Museum also boasts a Kneeling Figure by the same artist.

Location

Number 15 on the map

Specifications

  • Three Standing Figures
  • 1978
  • h 180 cm x w 61 cm x d 52 cm
  • h 190 cm x w 53 cm x d 47 cm
  • h 180 cm x w 45 cm x d 60 cm
  • Soignies stone
  • MIDW415

Eugène Dodeigne (France)

Rouvieux, 1923

Trois figures debout

Dodeigne taille à grands traits grossiers dans la pierre des personnages sans détails. 

Dodeigne s’est basé pour ces trois personnages sur trois dessins qu’il avait réalisés à l’hiver 1977-78. Ils ressemblent à des dolmens, figés pour l’éternité, revêtant ainsi une dimension mystique, presque païenne. La forme prime sur le contenu, comme chez son grand modèle Rodin.

Il s’agit d’exemplaires uniques réalisés en taille directe. Les personnages sont à la fois sobres et monumentaux. Ce sont d’élégants monolithes qui revendiquent leur place. D’où le titre. Ces silhouettes aux contours précis se dissimulent, tiennent leurs distances, se toisent et se mesurent. Des grands prêtres du mouvement. Immobiles, ils semblent pourtant avancer avec une grande dignité.

La manière et la matière de ces statues les rend identifiables du premier coup d’œil. Ce sont pourtant des blocs grossièrement taillés dans du grès de Soignies, un matériau très particulier et qui se prête parfaitement à l’effet recherché par Dodeigne. 

Une figure agenouillée du même artiste est encore exposée au parc Middelheim.

Localisation

Numéro 15 sur le plan

Spécifications

  • Trois figures debout
  • 1978
  • H. 180 cm x l. 61 cm x p. 52 cm
  • H. 190 cm x l. 53 cm x p. 47 cm
  • H. 180 cm x l. 45 cm x p. 60 cm
  • Pierre de Soignies
  • MID.B.415