Auguste Rodin (France)

Parijs, 1840 – Meudon, 1917

Balzac

© Karin Borghouts

It took Rodin six years to complete his sculpture of Balzac and then it was rejected.

Besides other interests, there was also an ideological conflict, about the essence of sculpture. For Rodin, the sculptural value of mass and volume took precedence. He felt that these elements should express the irresistible power of the human genius without making concessions to details or imitation.

In 1891, the Société des Gens de Lettres commissioned Rodin with creating a Monument Balzac within a period of eighteen months. A great number of sketches, after old portraits, paintings and drawings which featured Balzac, as well as the study of people from Balzac’s native Touraine and further acquaintance with his literary work gave rise to the creation of a series (39 in all!) of sculptures. They were all practice runs for the final version that can be found here in Middelheim Museum. In the meantime, Rodin had repeatedly missed the deadline and so when the statue was finally completed in 1897, it was rejected.

Rodin himself considered his sculpture of Balzac a decisive step towards open air sculptures. It is impossible to overestimate Auguste Rodin’s influence on modern and contemporary sculpture. After having studied Michelangelo’s work in 1875, he would go on to become one of the greatest sculptors of all time, ushering in the modern era for sculpture. In a sense, his giant personality and work are a turning point between tradition and modernism. In fact, his works even incorporate aspects of both eras.

“From Rodin to the present” is more than a slogan, it is a guideline for the Middelheim Museum.

On loan from the Royal Museum of Fine Arts since 1950.

Location

Number 4 on the map

Specifications

  • Balzac
  • 1892–97
  • h 273 cm x w 120 cm x d 120 cm
  • Bronze
  • MIDKM.2196

Auguste Rodin (France)

Paris, 1840–Meudon, 1917

Balzac

© Karin Borghouts

Rodin travailla sept ans à la commande dune statue de Balzac qui fut finalement rejetée par ses commanditaires.

Outre certains intérêts particuliers, c’est un conflit idéologique sur la nature de la sculpture que déclencha son œuvre. Rodin mettait au dessus de tout la valeur sculpturale de la masse et du volume, qui devaient servir à exprimer la force irrésistible du génie humain, sans concession pour le détail ou la fidélité au sujet.

En 1891, la Société des Gens de Lettres commanda à Rodin un ‘Monument Balzac’, à produire dans un délai de dix-huit mois. Quantité d’études d’après des portraits anciens, des tableaux et des dessins représentant Balzac, ainsi que l’étude de types humains de Touraine, la région natale de Balzac, et une lecture attentive de son œuvre littéraire débouchèrent sur toute une série de sculptures (39). Elles devaient servir d’exercices à la version définitive qui figure aujourd’hui au Musée Middelheim. Le délai de livraison était alors largement dépassé et quand la statue fut enfin achevée en 1897, elle fut refusée par ses commanditaires.

Pour Rodin, ce Balzac fut un pas décisif vers la sculpture de plein air. L’influence d’Auguste Rodin sur la sculpture moderne et contemporaine est considérable. Après avoir étudié l’œuvre de Michel-Ange en 1875, il devint un des plus grands sculpteurs de tous les temps. Il introduisit la modernité dans la sculpture et sa forte personnalité et son immense œuvre constituent un véritable tournant du classique vers le moderne, d’autant plus que ses œuvres intègrent les deux facettes.

‘De Rodin à nos jours’ n’est donc pas un simple slogan. C’est la ligne conductrice du Musée Middelheim.

Prêt du Musée Royal des Beaux-Arts d' Anvers depuis 1950.

Localisation

Numéro 4 sur le plan

Spécifications

  • Balzac
  • 1892–97
  • H. 273 cm x l. 120 cm x p. 120 cm
  • Bronze
  • MID.KM.2196